What are the Boxes on my Voter Registration Certificate?

On the Left side of your Voter Registration Certificate:

VUID - Voter Unique Identifier. Also referred to as your "Voter Number".

Prec. No. – This is your Voting Precinct Number. Historically, some have also referred to this number as an "Election Precinct Number" or "Voting Box Number". There are 4 County Precincts (**1**, **2**, **3**, **and 4**). Each County Precinct has an elected County Commissioner, Justice of the Peace, Constable, and Hospital District Board Member. As the territory/jurisdiction is exactly the same for each of these 4 elected officials for each County Precinct, the boundaries for each County Precinct are referred to as "Coterminous". A Voting Precinct, which again is what your Voter Registration Certificate reflects under "Prec. No.", is a smaller subdivision of a County Precinct. Each County Precinct is divided into multiple Voting Precincts.

Voting Precincts 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 are within County Precinct 1.

Voting Precincts 21, 24, 26, and 27 are within County Precinct 2.

Voting Precincts 32, 33, and 34 are within County Precinct 3.

Voting Precincts 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, and 47 are within County Precinct 4.

Valid From/To Dates – You do not have to re-register to vote every 2 years. Your voter registration will automatically be renewed and you will be sent a new Voter Registration Certificate every 2 years. Voter Registration Certificates expire at the end of odd numbered years. Typically, you will receive your new Voter Registration Certificate for an upcoming even numbered year in November or December of the odd numbered year that your current certificate is about to expire for. The only time you need to re-register to vote is if you have had any change to your residential or mailing addresses.

On the Right side of your Voter Registration Certificate:

USREP – United States Representative District. All of Nacogdoches County is within **United States Representative District 17**. United States Representative District 17 includes all or part of the following Counties: Falls (100%), Freestone (36%), Houston (100%), Leon (100%), Limestone (100%), McLellan (100%), Milam (100%), Nacogdoches (100%), Robertson (100%), Travis (5%), Trinity (100%), Walker (78%), and Williamson (14%).

STSEN – State Senator District. All of Nacogdoches County is within **State Senator District 3**. State Senator District 3 includes all or part of the following Counties: Anderson (100%), Angelina (100%), Cherokee (100%), Hardin (100%), Henderson (100%), Houston (100%), Jasper (100%), Jefferson (76%), Liberty (100%), Nacogdoches (100%), Newton (100%), Orange (100%), Polk (100%), Sabine (100%), San Augustine (100%), Shelby (100%), Trinity (100%), and Tyler (100%).

STREP – State Representative District. All of Nacogdoches County is within **State Representative District 11.** State Representative District 11 includes all of the following Counties: Nacogdoches (100%), Newton (100%), Panola (100%), Rusk (100%), Sabine (100%), and Shelby (100%).

SBE – State Board of Education District. All of Nacogdoches County is within **State Board of Education District 9.** State Board of Education District 9 includes all or part of the following Counties: Angelina (100%), Camp (100%), Cass (100%), Cherokee (100%), Dallas (26%), Franklin (100%), Gregg (100%), Harrison (100%), Kaufman (100%), Marion (100%), Morris (100%), Nacogdoches (100%), Panola (100%), Rains (100%), Rockwall (100%), Rusk (100%), Sabine (100%), San Augustine (100%), Shelby (100%), Smith (100%), Titus (100%), Upshur (100%), Van Zandt (100%), and Wood (100%).

COMM and JP – County Commissioner Precinct/Justice of the Peace Precinct. There are 4 County Precincts (**1, 2, 3, and 4**). Each County Precinct has an elected County Commissioner, Justice of the Peace, Constable, and Hospital District Board Member. As the territory/jurisdiction is exactly the same for each of these 4 elected officials for each County Precinct, the boundaries for each County Precinct are referred to as "Coterminous". Your Voter Registration Certificate should have either **1, 2, 3 or 4** underneath **COMM** and **JP**, and the number should be the same for each. If you are within County Commissioner Precinct 1, then you are also within Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, as the boundaries for each jurisdiction are coterminous/identical. The same would be true for your Constable Precinct Number and your Hospital District Board Member Precinct Number.

Please note: Constable and Hospital District Precinct Numbers do not appear on Voter Registration Certificates issued by Nacogdoches County at this time as there is not enough room on the Certificates to be able to include this information for all voters.

SCHL – School District. There are 8 School Districts within Nacogdoches County. On Voter Registration Certificates, CISD is used for Chireno ISD, CHISD is used for Central Heights ISD, CUISD is used for Cushing ISD, DISD is used for Douglass ISD, GISD is used for Garrison ISD, MISD is used for Martinsville ISD, NISD is used for Nacogdoches ISD, and WISD is used for Woden ISD. Cushing ISD and Garrison ISD both extend into Rusk County, and Chireno ISD extends into San Augustine County. Central Heights ISD, Douglass ISD, Martinsville ISD, Nacogdoches ISD, and Woden ISD are all fully within Nacogdoches County.

SMSCH – Single Member School District. If your residence is within Nacogdoches ISD, this box will appear on your Voter Registration Certificate. Nacogdoches ISD is divided into five Single Member Districts: **SMD1**, **SMD2**, **SMD3**, **SMD4**, and **SMD5**.

CITY – If your residence is within the City Limits of one of the 5 cities within Nacogdoches County, this box will appear on your Voter Registration Certificate. **APP** is used for Appleby, **CHI** is used for Chireno, **CUS** is used for Cushing, **GAR** is used for Garrison, and **NAC** is used for Nacogdoches.

SMCITY – Single Member District of a City, more commonly referred to as a "**City Ward**". If your residence is within the City of Nacogdoches, this box will appear on your Voter Registration Certificate. The City of Nacogdoches is divided into 4 City Wards. **NE** is used for the Northeast Ward, **NW** is used for the Northwest Ward, **SE** is used for the Southwest Ward, and **SW** is used for the Southwest Ward.

Other Jurisdictions/Voter Roll Codes:

These jurisdictions do not appear on Voter Registration Certificates issued by Nacogdoches County at this time as there is not enough room on the Certificates to be able to include this information for all voters.

COAD – Court of Appeals District. Nacogdoches County is within the **12th Court of Appeals District**. Counties within the 12th Court of Appeals District include Anderson, Angelina, Cherokee, Gregg, Henderson, Houston, Nacogdoches, Rains, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Trinity, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.

DA – District Attorney. In Nacogdoches County, the District Attorney is elected for the **145th Judicial District**.

DISJUD – District Judge. Nacogdoches County is served by the **145th** and **420th Judicial District Courts**.

ESD – Emergency Services District. Nacogdoches County has 5 Emergency Services Districts. **ESD1**, **ESD2**, **ESD3**, **ESD4**, and **ESD6**. ESD5 was proposed to voters in 2010, but did not pass. Maps of the Emergency Services Districts within Nacogdoches County are available here: https://www.co.nacogdoches.tx.us/ElectionInformation/VotingMaps.asp

MUD – Municipal Utility District. There is one Municipal Utility District within Nacogdoches County: **Municipal Utility District No. 1**. **MUD1** is used on the Voter Roll for addresses within Municipal Utility District No. 1. This district covers County Roads 5021, 5022, 5023, 5024, 5025, and 5026.